Indulgence Done Right: Emporium Pies

DSC_0034

If Anthropology decided to open a bakery it would look exactly like Emporium Pies. On the edges of Bishop Arts District in a little wooden cottage with a yellow door and welcoming porch, this quant shop is dishing out pies better than grandma used to make them.

I have frequented Emporium Pies often and it is clearly a Dallas top spot to pleasing my sweet tooth, but this past Easter finally prompted me to write about this hidden gem. Invited to the Scovill manor for an Easter dinner filled with family, friends, laughter, a little dancing, and of course only the finest of food, my mom and I were in charge of dessert. Now, I hold myself to the highest of standards when it comes to baking and cooking. I like to think I am the master of the kitchen, only creating things strictly from scratch. However, when faced with Easter Dessert (a momentous holiday celebrating not only the rise of Jesus, but the chance to finally eat foods given up for Lent), I decided to leave it to the professionals.

398DSCN2143

Thinking of Emporium at the last minute on Saturday, I feared I was too late to pick up even an array of slices for the following day. Calling around mid-afternoon, the staff assured me their pies would sell out within the next hour. The dilemma was I had a SMU soccer game to win and wouldn’t make it to the district until at least 6:30 pm, so following the final whistle (no worries folks we won 5-1, PONY UP!), I sped like crazy hoping there may be just one slice left to feed our party of

Not only did we have the choice of all the pies in the shop, but there were whole pies left of each kind still! I believe it was the presence of Momma Bodden that made the pie gods bring us good luck that night.

Emporium has three pies on the menu year-round including: The Drunken Nut (bourbon pecan with shortbread crust), Lord of The Pies (deep dish apple with cinnamon streusel), The Smooth Operator (french silk chocolate with pretzel crust). In addition to those, there are seasonal hits that you MUST try when its their time to shine. Currently, Emporium is showcasing their In The Limelight (key lime custard with house-whipped cream and cream cheese topping), Strawberry Fields (strawberry, raspberry, and rhubarb), Dr. Love (red velvet cheese pie), and their Snowball (coconut custard, house-whipped cream, toasted coconut).Β If I had one wish in the world it would be for the shop to add their fall exclusive Drop Dead Gordgeous (pumpkin spiced pie with gingersnap crust) to the regular menu. Pumpkin everything speaks directly to my heart, but this pie in particular knows how to make me tingle with delight.

EmporiumPieToGo

We snagged a whole Drunken Nut and slices of the Smooth Operator, Lord of The Pies, and In The Limelight. When it comes to packaging, Emporium knows what’s up. If the pies weren’t so sinfully delicious, unwrapping them would probably be an issue for me. Nestled in their wooden carton, tied with string, and accompanied with a biodegradable fork, you can really tell the care and quality Emporium has for what they do.Β The pies keep nicely and most can just be kept in the open, but the Smooth Operator and In The Limelight needed refrigeration because they contained cream.

IMG_2696

Struggling to wait all the way until after dinner Sunday night, I attacked those pies the moment the strings were untied. A Florida girl born and raised I know a good Key Lime when I taste it and WOAH Emporium is some steep competition. It was creamy and had just the right tang to it. The crust has the ideal crumble to it and balances well with the sweetness of the custard. I am not a huge pecan pie fan, but I did enjoy this one. Still not my favorite, I did love how you can taste the bourbon, but it isn’t overpowering at all. The crunch of the pecans balances well with the filling and the cookie-like shortbread crust. The Lord of The Pies is a must for me every time I go to Emporium. Ten apples freshly cut to a pie, tossed in their hand-made caramel, coated with a crispy cinnamon streusel, and baked in a buttery, flaky crust, it’s a classic done right. The slice is more savory without that goopy filling that takes away from the apples. My favorite of the night had to be the Smooth Operator because it was the perfect way to indulge a sweets craving I had since the beginning of Lent. With a silky texture mix of both milk and dark chocolate on a pretzel crust, the Smooth Operator is like a back massage at the end of a long day that feels so good you can’t even move after it’s over. It was definitely an AWWWWW YAAAAA foodie moment for me.

Made in-house, daily, and with fresh organic ingredients, you cannot go wrong with any of their options. The pies contain no preservatives, hydrogenated oils, dyes, nor corn syrup. A flawless balance of components allow the ingredients to shine without that gummy end product to the filling. They are rich, yet not too sweet that you can’t finish the slice.

Emporium Pies is a place known in Dallas for what they do and go-to for Holiday feasts. Waves of crowds cycle throughout opening hours, so if you don’t want to miss the whole pies or slices you’re craving, come earlier rather than later. It would be an honor to work behind the counter at this swanky establishment, rocking one of their B.A. baker bandanas and aprons. Maybe one day…

Emporium Pies on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

